Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Stay cool with this simple breath practice

Ease hot flashes, anger, and irritability + beat the heat

Dear yogini,

The consistency of its occurrence is remarkable. Within a week of my period starting, without fail, I encounter an unexplainable surge of angry, irritated energy. I wake up feeling off—everything anyone does or says feels like a personal affront. My husband has long known this day signals winter is near, and, unfortunately for him, I can’t help trying my darnedest to make those around me annoyed and angry too. Misery loves company and I spare no one the wrath.

It’s the little slights that push me over the edge. The metal colanders get loaded into the dishwasher even though I’ve told my husband a thousand times they’ll get rusty (they never have); the inflatable mattress that is impossible for me to roll up into a perfect fold still sits in a lumpy heap in front of the closet door four weeks after the family sleepover waiting for my husband to find the motivation to put it away; I finally give up on waiting and pick up the Mother’s Day picnic backpack that’s found a new permanent home on the kitchen floor only to discover a forgotten, half-eaten, moldy baguette in the back zipper pouch for me to clean up. 🤬

Most days, I choose to ignore the simmering under-the-surface tension every time I empty the dishwasher or walk by the air mattress. But on that one day a month when rage knows no bounds, I can’t hold in my disdain for being ignored, for being wrong, or for feeling like I’m the only one that cares about an orderly home environment. My boiling blood summons collective fury and bubbles over with the wrath born of women who, through the ages, have felt their ideas and needs have been dismissed by their partners. All it takes is one dish left on the counter next to the dishwasher, one piece of laundry not put away, one, “I’ll do it later,” (read: your mental sanity is not my priority) or, “I’ll do it my way,” (read: your way is illogical). Historically, this would have all been textbook evidence of my hysteria. Today, we’ve come to accept emotional fluctuation as part of being a woman.

Natural cooling

We are always cycling—moving through energy and emotions. Sometimes we’re angry, and other times we’re joyful. Sometimes we’re irritable, sometimes we’re content. Sometimes our moods change throughout the course of the day, other times an emotion sticks around for weeks1. This doesn’t mean anything is wrong, it just means you’re human. And if you’re menstruating, your hormonal shifts are natural and totally normal. You are not hysterical. You’re just sick of people in your life doing stupid shit, and it’s making you mad.   

If you find your energy surging, why not harness it for good? The yoga tradition offers an incredible tool to help you transmute your anger and irritation into calm, clear bliss. As we enter into summer, heat builds both externally from the sun and internally from our own mind and body. Energetic overheating means you are over-doing. A monthly day of rage and irritability in my cycle is my body’s way of warning me to slow down (Every. Single. Month…).

Cooling breath practice

Sītalī breathing is your best bet for cooling down. It’s a simple, soothing breath practice that provides instant cooling, focused calm, and a moment to pause so you can figure out how best to express your rage productively. According to Swami Muktibodhananda’s translation and commentary on the Hatha Yoga Pradipika, Sītalī breathing “was specifically designed to reduce the body temperature. However, these practices not only cool and calm the physical body, they also affect the mind in the same way.”2 Get it out, sister, and let it go. But in the spirit of ahimsa—compassion—make sure you’re kind to yourself and others in the process.

Check out today’s video practice for a demonstration of Sītalī (the cooling breath), plus an alternative, Sitkarī, (the hissing breath) for those who have trouble rolling the tongue.

How to practice

  • Practice for 5 rounds, followed by natural breathing for at least 5 rounds.

When to practice

  • Practice these pranayamas in the summer months

  • Practice these pranayamas after asana practice to restore balance to the body and mind after the heating effects of movement

  • Practice these pranayamas before bed or in the evening to cool the body and mind and to aid with sleep

Contraindications

  • If you suffer from chronic constipation, avoid these breath practices as they slow down activity in the lower energy centers, including digestive processes.

  • If you can’t roll your tongue, practice the hissing breath.

  • Avoid these breath practices in winter or during cooler weather.

  • If you are suffering from low blood pressure or respiratory disorders like asthma, bronchitis, or have excessive mucus, avoid these breath practices.

P.S. - I totally screwed up the framing when setting up all my equipment to film this practice. I was having a bad day and I didn’t realize my head was cut off in the recording until I’d put all my filming equipment away. In a constantly-evolving quest to battle perfectionism, I decided to share the poorly-framed video with you anyway because you can hear me fine and still see my tongue, which is all you really need. You don’t need to see the top of my head 😂

Start practicing yoga for women’s wellbeing today

Hot flashes got you down? This cooling breath may help! Take back control in your life with targeted, yoga-inspired practices specifically designed to help you manage the natural transitions and common symptoms of womanhood from menstruation—> motherhood—> menopause and beyond.

1

I am not talking about clinical depression or any other mental health disorder here, simply the natural rollercoaster that is emotional experience. If you do have concerns about your mental health, please seek the care of a qualified therapist.

2

Swami Muktibodhananda, Hatha Yoga Pradipika (New Delhi, India: Yoga Publications Trust, 2011), 249

0 Comments